ABRSM 2nd Session 2017

Congratulations to the following student and her teacher for achieving a Distinction in the 2nd Session of the ABRSM practical exams:


Kate Spencer (Dorothy Holder) – Grade 3 Double Bass


Kaapse Afrikaanse Eisteddfod

Congratulations to the following pupils who did exceptionally well in the Kaapse Afrikaanse Eisteddfod:


Teacher: Anne Marie Swanepoel:

Jordan Brooks (Gold Medal: Overall Winner Senior Section, 4 Silver Medals and 6 Distinctions)

Hyeon Woo Lee (1 Distinction, 1 Honours)

Emma September (3 Honours)


Teacher: Elzahn Johnson-Petersen:

Kezia Dawson (2 Honours)

Bevan Snyders (1 Honours)


Trinity 2nd Session 2017


Congratulations to the following students and their teachers who achieved Distinctions in the 2nd Session of the Trinity College practical exams.

Joon-Ho Park (Victor Tichart) – Grade 2 (Piano)

Jenna Atwood-Palm (Marina Louw) – Grade 3 Violin

Matric Performer's Competition 2017

Likhona Tokota (tuba, far right) won the Beau Soleil Matric Performers’ Prize for 2017 at the annual competition held on 20 September. With him are (from left to right) the adjudicator, Associate Professor Francois du Toit, accompanist Mrs Sandra Kettle-Loubser, and fellow participants Josef Spath (saxophone), Benjamin Abrahams (percussion) and Martin Beukes (violin). Our adjudicator for this year, Francois du Toit, is an Associate Professor of Piano and Head of Practical Studies at UCT. In his position at UCT, Francois is involved in many auditions from students appling to the University, and commended the teachers and students at Beau Soleil for the high standard of work being produced. He also provided some very useful insight into the aspects he finds important in a performance. Congratulations to all the participants and their teachers.