High Scores in ABRSM Exams!

Congratulations to Stephanie Lawrenson (violin; teacher Marina Louw) and Art Wynberg (clarinet; teacher Frances Brand), who were chosen to play at the ABRSM High Scorer's concert, for the exceptional results they achieved in their respective Gr 8 exams. Stephanie obtained 139/150 and Art 136/150. Well done!

Jordan Brooks Wins Competition

Jordan Brooks, a Gr 6 learner who studies violin with Anna-Marie Swanepoel at Beau Soleil Music Centre, has just been announced as the overall winner of the 2015 Hubert van der Spuy National Competition for Primary School learners. The competition takes place over four rounds for instrumentalists from all over the country who compete for this prestigious prize. Jordan won not only the overall prize, but also prizes for the Best Performance of a Baroque composition, the Best Performance of a Romantic Composition, the Best Performance of a South African Composition, as well the Strings Category Prize. 

Congratulations to Jordan and his teacher, Anna-Marie Swanepoel. We are SO proud of you!

Matric Performer's Competition 2015

On the 16th of September, the Music Centre held its annual Matric Performer’s Competition. The performer’s selected were Ashton Barnes on drum kit (Teacher: David West), Guillaume Bruwer on tuba (Teacher: Shaun Moir), Stephanie Lawrenson on violin (Teacher: Marina Louw) and Joshua Louis on violin (Teacher: Anne-Marié Swanepoel). A very high level of performance was produced by all the chosen candidates in this competition. A special thank you to Suzanne Martens for giving up her time and taking on the challenging task of adjudicating the vastly different instruments.

Congratulations to Guillaume for wining this year’s competition and to Ashton for taking 2nd place. Well done also to Stephanie and Joshua for their stellar performances.


ABRSM Exams, 2nd Session 2015

Congratulations to the students who entered the 2nd ABRSM exam session. Out of 49 entries, 27 students achieved a merit and 18 achieved a distinction.  The students who scored distinctions are as follows:


Georgiana Dorward (Elsabe Pretorius) – Grade 1 (Flute)

Bernadette Goemans (Tamara Rennie) – Grade 1 (Violin)

Oliver Boje (Frances Brand) – Grade 2 (Clarinet)

Kiana Christodoulides (Elsabe Pretorius) – Grade 2 (Flute)

Aviwe Ndamane (Maya Maile) – Grade 2 (Cello)

Tina Hlwatika (Maya Maile) – Grade 2 (Cello)

Kezra Cairns (Petra Hofmeyr) – Grade 3 (Violin)

Julia Fortes (Derek Fennell) – Grade 3 (Flute)

Mikael Christodoulides (Merlin McDonald) – Grade 4 (Trumpet)

Chloe Longman (Carla van der Merwe) – Grade 4 (Clarinet)

Chelse Roberts (Derek Fennell) – Grade 4 (Flute)

Hyeon Woo Lee (Anne-Marie Swanepoel) – Grade 4 (Violin)

Aiseah Ramos (Sandra Kettle-Loubser) – Grade 5 (Piano)

Dana Cranko (Dorothy Holder) – Grade 5 (Bass)

Sarah Cranko (Marina Louw) – Grade 6 (Violin)

Art Wynberg (Frances Brand) – Grade 7 (Clarinet)

Kirsten Buchanan (Marina Louw) – Grade 8 (Violin)

Stephanie Lawrenson (Marina Louw) – Grade 8 (Violin)


More Articles ...