Jordan Brooks wins National Youth Music Competition

Jordan Brooks was selected as the overall winner of the prestigious 2019 National Youth Music Competition. In addition to the overall prize, Jordan also won the prize for the best performance of a concerto. Please follow this LINK to see his exceptional rendition of the Sibelius Violin Concerto with the CTPO, under the baton of Brandon Phillips

Isaac van der Merwe

Beau Soleil’s Matric Performers Competition winner of 2021, Isaac van der Merwe (cello), also distinguished himself with several notable achievements as pianist recently. In the Pieter Kooij Competition, Isaac was awarded the overall first place as well as prizes for Best Pianist and Best Performance of a Romantic Work. He also won the Senior Piano category in the Johann Vos competition and was chosen to perform as a soloist in the Hugo Lambrechts Concerto Festival, where he performed the first movement of the Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No 2. Isaac studies piano privately with Albie van Schalkwyk.

Progress Prizes 2019

The following students are the progress prize winners for 2019. These prizes are awarded to students in each department for exceptional progress and consistent hard work. Each winner receives a floating trophy and a gift voucher sponsored by Paul Bothner Music and a certificate.

BRASS JUNIOR: Jeandré Cloete 

BRASS SENIOR: Nikita Roberts


BSMAT: Mfundo Xakambana


PERCUSSION JUNIOR: Matthew Welby-Solomon



PIANO: Reece Theunis


STRINGS JUNIOR: Jenna Atwood-Palm





Trinity 3rd Session 2019

Congratulations to the following students and their teachers who achieved Distinctions in the 3rd session of the Trinity practical exams.

Matthew Welby-Solomon (David West) – Grade 1 Drum kit

Matthew Welby-Solomon (David West) – Grade 1 Percussion

Sarah Clarke (David West) – Grade 1 Drum kit

Cameron Whitfield (John Rojas) - Grade 2 Clarinet

Carys Gates (David West) – Grade 3 Drum kit

Tanatswa Pepukai (David West) – Grade 4 Drum kit

Rachael-Anne Felix (Marga Smith) – Grade 4 Piano

Daniel Reuter (David West) – Grade 5 Drum kit

Joshua van Rensburg (David West) – Grade 5 Drum kit

Chelse Roberts (Derek Fennell) – Grade 6 Flute

Emily-Jane Stevens (Derek Fennell) – Grade 6 Flute

Isaac van der Merwe (Maya Maile) – Grade 7 Cello

Liam Buck (David West) – Grade 7 Drum kit